Consumers Energy Donates to Teen Space!

Friday, October 28, Eaton Rapids Teen Space was the recipient of a generous donation from Consumers Energy as part of their Digital Academy CE-lebrity Hackathon. 

Consumer’s Energy’s Executive Director of Corporate Giving, Carolyn Bloodworth, said, This contribution from Consumers Energy has been made on behalf of my coworker Kristy Rennick.  Kristy earned a chance to select a local nonprofit organization to receive a contribution because she was a winner in Consumers Energy’s Digital Academy CE-lebrity Hackathon. The hackathonencourages our coworkers to apply skills they’ve learned through our digital academy to solve company problems.”

Kristy Rennick has a special interest in Eaton Rapids Teen Space. She is the mom of teens who come to Teen Space. Parents and concerned citizens like her are Teen Space’s primary and most vital supporters.

On behalf of our board, staff, and the teens at Teen Space Teen Center, we are so appreciative to be the recipient of Consumers Energy’s donation; and so fortunate to have a great parent like Kristy as part of our community,” Cheryl Wichman, chair of Eaton Rapids Community Alliance’s board of directors, said of the donation. 

“Teen Space’s operating budget is based on donations and grants written by our staff,” Wichman went on. “Our number of teen attendees is increasing, but our mission remains the same, and that is to provide programming the will help our teens become successful and engaged citizens. This donation will go towards helping to meet that goal.”

“Our parents, community contributors, and corporate donors are an invaluable part of the greater Teen Space community,” said Adam Droscha, the Executive Director of Eaton Rapids Teen Space. “Generous donations like Kristy’s and Consumers not only help us achieve our mission to support local youth, they represent an essential dynamic of healthy communities: local institutions supporting each other to meet community needs. We’re grateful to Kristy and Consumers for supporting us and Eaton Rapids youth.”